TV Types

The truth about life behind the screens

TV Commissioner New Year Resolutions

6528081483_e455fa2e5d_zWe can’t promise but we can certainly hope that at least a few TV Commissioners are making these resolutions for 2016:

This year I will write down what I say to people at the first viewing so I remember it and don’t say the complete opposite at the final viewing.”

This year I’ll think a little longer about the ideal reality TV cast members I suggest. Yes, I could feel the whole casting team internally roll their eyes when I asked if they could find any taller dwarfs for the documentary series about the challenges of being short…”

This year I’ll use the timecode on viewing notes rather than relying on the telepathic detective skills of the edit team (because apparently “lose the music that sounds a bit like the song they played at that funeral I went to last week, which none of you were at” is not as helpful as I’d hoped).”

This year I will get a tattoo of Spider-Man to remind me that with great power comes great responsibility.

This year I will watch the programmes I’m paid to watch when I say I will watch them (in honour of the poor minions who probably stayed up all night to get the cuts ready on time).”

This year I will make sure the show that I commission is the show that I actually want because “fix it in post” should not be applied to a whole programme premise.”

Fingers crossed for these & happy new year from @TV_Types

(Image source)

 

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on January 1, 2016 by in TV Production.
What the Weazel Wonders...

The truth about life behind the screens

TVMole

The truth about life behind the screens

Creative Skillset Craft and Technical Skills Academy

The truth about life behind the screens

ukcameraman

The truth about life behind the screens

Media Monkey | The Guardian

The truth about life behind the screens

The truth about life behind the screens

1st Assistant Directors

The truth about life behind the screens

Georgina Bobb TV

TV and Media Freelancer with 7 plus years experience within broadcast, online video production and marketing.

TV Jobs UK

Kickstart your TV Career with TV Jobs UK